Share yours…

How did your first contact with ceramic musical instruments occur? How did you gain experience in making them?

Here is my story.

I have never heard and seen any ceramic whistle in my childhood until I went with a team of students to the Ukrainian Pottery Centre in Opishnia, which is located in Poltava region. It was the summer of 2007. There we practiced pottery in making animalistic sculptures that are traditional for that region. One day we had an excursion for the workshop of one of the famous masters – Vasyl’ Omelyanenko. He was just making his creations: decorative sculptures. Specially for us he demonstrated the whistle making – a tiny hen. It seemed to be so simply, just a little handmade work. Next day the master visited our workshop and brought lots of tools for ceramics (one was for whistles, another for sculptures) as a gift for each of us. It was a great surprise!  Since than we could make our own whistles!

Whistles by Vasyl’ Omelyanenko:

DSC01480 

This was my first one, made in Opishnia:

It’s a pity, but some months later when I decided to remind of making a whistle, I couldn’t obtain good result with all my efforts. Since that time ensued my dream to make good-quality musical instrument by my own and I aimed to investigate this field more attentively.

It is so curious that when my dream appeared I didn’t expect that lots of people in the world do and try to do the same))))). I began to observe immense amount of information in wide-web. Thusly began my way to the Passion for Ceramics& Music.

Add a comment...